Home » Events » Jacob Young with Marcin Wasilewski & Trygve Seim | Euro Jazz Superband | SFJAZZ

Jacob Young with Marcin Wasilewski & Trygve Seim | Euro Jazz Superband | SFJAZZ

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 06/21/2014 - 06/22/2014
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Joe Henderson Lab, SFJAZZ Center


Add This Event to Your Calendar

– Buy Tickets Online – June 21

– Buy Tickets Online – June 22

Concert sets at 7pm and 8:30pm.

“… Jacob Young is set to take on the loose-fitting crown of strum ’n’ thrum king held throughout jazz history by Jim Hall, Bill Frisell and the Pats (Martino, Metheny).” — JazzTimes

“… an excellent pianist influenced by Keith Jarrett.” — The New York Times on Marcin Wasilewski

  • Jacob Young — guitar
  • Marcin Wasilewski — piano
  • Trygve Seim — tenor and soprano saxophones
  • Slawomir Kurkiewicz — bass
  • Michal Miskiewicz — drums

Norwegian guitarist Jacob Young presents the West Coast premiere of his stimulating new project with Polish pianist Marcin Wasilewski’s trio and Oslo-born saxophonist Trygve Seim. A native of Lillehammer, Young is an artist whose singular approach has been formed by both his European upbringing and musical education in New York, where he studied with late guitar legend Jim Hall and freelanced with artists including Larry Goldings, Rashied Ali and Marc Copland. Young has become a stalwart figure on the Norwegian jazz scene, recording six albums including his acclaimed ECM releases Evening Falls and Sideways. Marcin Wasilewski has risen from his beginnings as a musical prodigy to become one of the most celebrated pianists on the international scene. He was an integral part of trumpet master Tomasz Stanko’s quartet and has led three lauded sessions for ECM with his own trio that includes bassist Slawomir Kurkiewicz and drummer Michal Miskiewicz. Trygve Seim is a brilliant wind player and bandleader who has made six CDs for ECM while working with Norwegian jazz collective The Source, Peter Gabriel drummer Manu Katché, and Grammy-winning Egyptian musician Fathy Salama. Join us for these intimate performances celebrating this project’s debut release.


Please write a comment below and any feedback is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.