Home » Events » Alexander String Quartet with Sarah Cahill | Mozart in Vienna: Season One | Visiting Presenter | SF Performances

Alexander String Quartet with Sarah Cahill | Mozart in Vienna: Season One | Visiting Presenter | SF Performances

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 04/05/2014
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Miner Auditorium, SFJAZZ Center


Add This Event to Your Calendar

Mozart in Vienna: Season One | 4 Saturdays | January 25, February 22, March 22, April 5 at 10am

Alexander String Quartet

  • Zakarias Grafilo – violin
  • Frederick Lifsitz – violin
  • Paul Yarbrough – viola
  • Sandy Wilson – cello

Program 1: January 25

  • String Quartet No. 14 in G Major, K. 387
  • String Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K. 421

Program 2: February 22

  • String Quartet No. 16 in E-flat Major, K. 428
  • String Quartet No. 17 in B flat Major (“Hunt”), K. 458

Program 3: March 22

  • String Quartet No. 18 in A Major, K. 464
  • String Quartet No. 19 in C Major (“Dissonance”), K. 465

Program 4: April 5 – Guest Artist: Sarah Cahill, piano

  • Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, K. 478
  • Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-flat Major, K. 493

For two decades these five musicians, scholars and friends have brought together a devoted crowd of chamber music enthusiasts on Saturday mornings that are part concert, part lecture, part humor and all entertainment. Followers on both sides of the Bay indulge in deep exploration of composers, their works, times and impacts in one of SF Performances most popular and enduring series. These enlightening two-hour sessions, designed and written by Robert Greenberg, open with Mr. Greenberg’s musical and historical insights about the composers and their work, liberally peppered with his incisive wit and expansive insights, and conclude with complete performances of the repertoire by the ASQ.

In 1781, the 25 year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart moved to Vienna, to freelance and pursue fame and fortune in the capital city of German music. A few months later, he met and played in a pickup string quartet with Joseph Haydn. Inspired by the Haydn quartets he had played, Mozart set out to compose a series of string quartets of his own, quartets that would earn Haydn’s respect. In this he succeeded entirely; Mozart’s six, so-called “Haydn” quartets did not just win Haydn’s praise but raised the string quartet bar to an altogether new level of artistry, virtuosity, and compositional complexity.

This season will also feature Mozart’s two extraordinary Piano Quartets of 1785–1786, works that virtually created the genre of “piano quartet.”

Join us for the first of two seasons dedicated to Mozart’s Viennese chamber music masterworks.


– Buy Online –


Please write a comment below and any feedback is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.