Home » Events » Lara St. John, violin & Matt Herskowitz, piano – Lavuta: Violin Beyond the Pale

Lara St. John, violin & Matt Herskowitz, piano – Lavuta: Violin Beyond the Pale

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 01/18/2016
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Le Poisson Rouge


Add This Event to Your Calendar

Buy Tickets

Concert Program

  • Čoček; Macedonia/Milica Paranosic
  • Nagilara; Israel/Matt Herskowitz
  • Variaiuni (“Bar Fight”); Romania/Lara St. John
  • Five Ladino Songs; Judeo-Spanish/David Ludwig
  • Ah Ya Zayn; Palestine/J. Kameel Farah
  • Misirlouri; The Jewish Diaspora/Yuri Boguinia
  • Moscow; Russia/Gene Pritsker
  • Sari Siroun Yar; Armenia/Serouj Kradjian
  • Czardashian Rhapsody; Hungary/Martin Kennedy

“Music like this is beyond imagination and talent. It exists only in the loosely-held molecules found on the razor’s edge of Creation.” – All About Jazz

“..a storm of perfection.” – BlogCritics

“Heritage music with passion, furor, and spectacular extemporization.” – Second Inversion

This concert will feature songs from Armenia, Hungary, the Jewish Diaspora, Macedonia, Palestine, Romania and Russia – some fully written, some partly improvised – re-imagined for the concert stage by today’s composers.

  • Lara St. John, violin: Canadian-born violinist Lara St. John has been described as “something of a phenomenon” by The Strad and a “high-powered soloist” by the New York Times.

She has performed as soloist with the orchestras of Cleveland, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle, Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, and with the Boston Pops, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, NDR Symphony, Zurich Chamber Orchestra, Camerata Ireland, Amsterdam Symphony, Brazilian Symphony, Sao Paulo Symphony, China Philharmonic, Hong Kong Symphony, Tokyo Symphony, and the orchestras of Brisbane, Adelaide and Auckland among many others.

  • Matt Herskowitz, piano “Lavuta: Violin Beyond the Pale”: Uniquely combining the superlative technique of a classical virtuoso with his prowess in jazz, world music and free improvisation, pianist, composer and arranger Matt Herskowitz has carved out a unique and personal voice in music. Over the course of the last decade, Matt has produced a series of critically-acclaimed recordings, premiered his works in settings from New York’s Central Park to Germany’s Köln Philharmonie, collaborated with top classical, jazz and pop artists, and has performed at music festivals across the globe.

His newest release, for Justin Time Records, is Matt Herskowitz Upstairs, a solo outing ranging from Gershwin to Schumann to Dave Brubeck to originals by Herskowitz, including Bella’s Lament and “Bach à la Jazz,” his arrangement of Bach’s Prelude in C Minor which Herskowitz previously recorded for EMI’s Grammy-nominated soundtrack to The Triplets of Belleville. In naming the release “Solo Album of the Year,” Le Devoir declared: “Herskowitz deploys his art with a rare passion, but without ever sacrificing musicality. Exceptional technique, precise sense of nuance, Herskowitz here brilliantly fuses his mastery of jazz and classical.” And Downbeat magazine praised Upstairs in its Editor’s Picks: “Throughout these eight tracks, [Herskowitz] displays touch, power, artistry and chops along with a firm grasp of the daring needed for a great performance.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.