Home » Events » SFJAZZ Collective – Music Of Antônio Carlos Jobim and Original Compositions

SFJAZZ Collective
MUSIC | The all-star octet performs Jobim's Bossa Nova classics like "Girl from Ipanema," "One Note Samba," "Waters of March," "Corcovado," and more.

SFJAZZ Collective – Music Of Antônio Carlos Jobim and Original Compositions

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 10/18/2018
7:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Miner Auditorium, SFJAZZ Center


Add This Event to Your Calendar

BUY TICKETS | SFJAZZ Members Save 25%

The all-star octet performs Jobim’s Bossa Nova classics like “Girl from Ipanema,” “One Note Samba,” “Waters of March,” “Corcovado,” and more.

SFJAZZ Collective

For the 2018-2019 season, the SFJAZZ Collective premieres innovative new arrangements of the work of pioneering Brazilian composer Antônio Carlos Jobim and freshly minted compositions by the band, in performances marking the debut of two new Collective members, trumpeter Etienne Charles and bassist Matt Brewer. An all-star ensemble comprising eight of the finest performer/composers at work in jazz today, the Collective’s mission each year is to perform fresh arrangements of works by a modern master and newly commissioned pieces by each member of the band. Through this pioneering approach, simultaneously honoring music’s greatest figures while championing jazz’s up-to-the-minute directions, the Collective embodies SFJAZZ’s commitment to jazz as a living, ever-relevant art form.

A pioneering figure and primary creator of the bossa nova style, Jobim merged Brazilian popular song with jazz to form a new and wildly popular hybrid that captivated listeners from its inception in the 1960s to today. Starting with the genre-defining 1963 Stan Getz and Astrud Gilberto collaboration Getz/Gilberto, Jobim contributed a vast number of compositions now considered jazz and pop standards. The Collective highlights the pianist and composer’s immense diversity of expression, interpreting epochal work from Jobim’s timeless songbook. Recordings from these performances will comprise the Collective’s next album, due to be released early in 2019.

Antônio Carlos Jobim Selections

  • “Felicidade” – David Sanchez
  • “One Note Samba” – Miguel Zenón
  • “Girl from Ipanema & Portrait in Black and White” – Edward Simon
  • “Waters of March & Corcovado” – Obed Calvaire
  • “No More Blues & How Insensitive” – Warren Wolf
  • “Inútil Paisagem” – Robin Eubanks
  • “Garoto & Ligia” – Etienne Charles
  • “Olha Maria” – Matt Brewer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.