Home » Events » Tierney Sutton – Songs of Joni Mitchell | SFJAZZ

Tierney Sutton – Songs of Joni Mitchell | SFJAZZ

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 07/24/2014 - 07/27/2014
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Joe Henderson Lab, SFJAZZ Center


Add This Event to Your Calendar

– Buy Tickets Online – July 24 at 7pm and 8:30pm

– Buy Tickets Online – July 25 at 7pm and 8:30pm

– Buy Tickets Online – July 26 at 7pm and 8:30pm

– Buy Tickets Online – July 27 at 7pm and 8:30pm

“Ms. Sutton is a pure jazz spirit who respects a song. Even when going out on an improvisatory limb, she never lets its essence slip away.” — The New York Times

“Her scatting boasts a clean airborne quality, and the lady can swing.” — Variety

  • Tierney Sutton — vocals
  • Mark Summer — cello
  • Serge Merlaud — guitar

The beguiling jazz singer Tierney Sutton, whose voice The New York Times critic Stephen Holden called “as pure and sparkling as mountain spring water,” has been reveling in the beautiful music on After Blue, her GRAMMY-nominated 2013 album of Joni Mitchell’s music, re-imagined by Sutton in subtle and compelling ways. That’s the music she’ll perform with a chamber group featuring cello and guitar, over what promises to be a thrilling four-night run. “Sutton performs a beautiful vocal alchemy with Mitchell’s material,” says All About Jazz.com. “She steps far enough out of her jazz box of familiarity to transform her voice into a new force of nature.” Sutton, whose original and well-received albums include her exploration of Bill Evans’ music, Green in Blue, and 2001’s American Road, a rich collection of folk songs, spirituals and show tunes ranging from the anonymous 19th century classic “Wayfaring Stranger” to Gershwin’s “My Man’s Gone Now.” When not playing Carnegie Hall, Jazz at Lincoln Center and venues around the world, Sutton is a sought-after teacher who served on the USC music faculty for a decade a now heads the vocal department at the Los Angeles Music Academy.


Please write a comment below and any feedback is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.