Home » Events » Dark Universe/Mysterious Spaces Project

E4TT (Fair Use)
MUSIC: Space is, as the saying goes, the final frontier. For E4TT’s commissions concert in 2022, the group will turn to both outer and terrestrial space.

Dark Universe/Mysterious Spaces Project

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 04/09/2022
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

San Francisco Conservatory of Music


Add This Event to Your Calendar

RSVP REGISTRATION – Hybrid concert: Free in-person attendance at the Jewel Box Recital Hall (RSVP recommended) OR online on YouTube (RSVP requested).

Space is, as the saying goes, the final frontier. For E4TT’s commissions concert in 2022, the group will turn to both outer and terrestrial space: whether considering outer space—with explorations and discoveries from the Mars rover, Perseverance—inner biological space with COVID and CRISPR DNA research, or the unfathomable depths of the earth’s oceans, recent history has shown us that we have much to discover and unravel in order to ensure the survival of our planet and our species. These mysteries are the inspiration for E4TT’s 2022 commissions concert, performed in collaboration with the San Francisco Conservatory of Music’s Technical and Applied Composition Department:


  • “TBD” for percussion by Vivian Fung (b. 1972), with a new performance film created by E4TT videographer Mister Wa;
  • “Four-Vectors” by E4TT co-founder David Garner (b. 1954), for vibraphone, cello, double bass, and piano;
  • Hydrophilic: (working title) for fixed media, cello, double bass, percussion, and piano by emerging Mills College graduate Stephanie Neumann (b. 1989);
  • ”The Chapter of Life” for soprano, cello, double bass, and percussion by Korean-American GLFCAM alumna Seo Yoon Soyoona Kim;
  • “Umbra” for fixed media and double bass by Andrew Harlan (b. 1995); and
  • “A Mind in the Branches” for soprano, cello, double bass, vibraphone, and piano by , Canadian composer Nicholas Denton Protsack (b.1994).


  • “Mystery” (2020) for solo cello by Afghanistan refugee Milad Yousufi (b. 1995)
    “a bridge between starshine and clay” (2018) for solo piano by two-spirit Quechua-Latinx composer inti figgis-vizueta (b. 1993);
  • “Where Branched Thoughts Murmur in the Wind” (2000) for solo piano by Eric Moe (b. 1954).


The winner of the multimedia student composition competition, in collaboration with the SF Conservatory of Music Technical and Applied Composition Department.

Performers: E4TT soprano Nanette McGuinness, cellist Abigail Monroe, and pianist Margaret Halbig will be joined by special guests percussionist Mika Nakamura and double bassist Yuchen Liu.

E4TT’s 2021/22 home season is supported by a grant from the San Francisco Arts Commission, and sponsored, in part, by a grant from The Ross McKee Foundation. This activity is supported in part by the California Arts Council, a state agency.

Consider financially donating to ArtsEarth today. A tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization. Tax ID number: 26-3808290.

E4TT is a fiscally sponsored affiliate of InterMusic SF, a non-profit organization dedicated to small-ensemble music in the San Francisco Bay Area.

The San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Tax ID 94-1156610, is a non-profit organization as defined under Internal Revenue Service Code Section 501(c)3.

IMAGE courtesy of E4TT (Fair Use)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.